Special Operation 4 for Ghost Recon Wildlands is Live

Special Operation 4 for Ghost Recon Wildlands is Live

More details of Special Operation 4, the last free content update of Year 2 for Ghost Recon Wildlands, accompany its release today.

We first reported on Special Operation 4 for Ghost Recon Wildlands a week ago, and it officially released today. Special Operation 4 is the last free content update in Year 2 for Ubisoft’s co-op shooter set in Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon universe. It introduces the new Guerilla PvE mode and makes several additions to the existing Ghost War PvP mode.

Guerilla PvE Mode

The new PvE mode in Ghost Recon Wildlands is called Guerilla and is essentially a horde mode. Playing solo or in co-op, up to four Ghosts will defend positions from continuous waves of attackers. Unidad and Cartel soldiers are the targets, and players will get to re-arm between waves.

While I certainly would have liked some additional co-op story content, I’m grateful for any new PvE content.

Ghost War PvP Additions

grw specops4 newpvpeventscards 1024x574 - Special Operation 4 for Ghost Recon Wildlands is Live

New Ghost War PvP Events

Ghost Recon Wildlands‘ PvP mode, Ghost War, is getting some love in this update in the form of a new class, two new maps, and two events.

  • The new Sapper class is a support class with a drone that can suppress enemies with concussion grenades.
  • Two new maps take the action to a Unidad airbase and a gas station.
  • The Arms Race event will start players off with only pistols and force them to look for better weaponry.
  • The Danger Zone event will keep players on the run while bombarding them with occasional sonic blasts.

Special Operation 4 is now available for players with the Year 2 season pass and will be available to all players on March 6th. In addition to the new PvE mode and Ghost War content, Special Operation 4 adds new features and improvements. These include daily campaign challenges, time-of-day setting, bleeding notifications, and a PvE compass HUD option.

For a full list of changes, please read the official patch notes.