Destiny 2: Beyond Light Expansion Now Available

By on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:36 pm. Filed in News under Destiny 2.

Journey to Europa and uncover what lies in the darkness in the Destiny 2: Beyond Light expansion.

The newest expansion for Destiny 2 is finally here. The Destiny 2: Beyond Light expansion launched today, ushering in a new era for the action-MMO and its player base. Beyond Light is the first of a trilogy of expansions for Destiny 2 slated for the years ahead.

Beyond Light introduces a new adventure set on the icy moon Europa, where a familiar threat has emerged. Eramis, the Fallen Kell of Darkness, aims to wield the power of Stasis for her benefit. Guardians must battle Eramis and defeat the dark forces that have appeared on Europa in order to save humanity.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Launch Trailer

Of course, it wouldn’t quite be a new Destiny game without a brand new raid for players to enjoy. For Beyond Light, the Deep Stone Crypt raid will become available for all expansion owners on November 21, 2020. A worldwide competition will be held to commemorate the first six-player fireteam to complete the raid. The winning team will earn the title of “World First” in the days following the raid’s launch.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light launched today alongside Microsoft’s Xbox Series X|S consoles. The expansion will also be available for PlayStation 5 when the console launches on November 12. Players who purchase Beyond Light on Xbox One can transfer their game to the Xbox Series X|S for free via Smart Delivery. Likewise, those who buy the expansion on PlayStation 4 can upgrade to the PS5 version for free.

Article continues below

Today also marked the start of a new season in Destiny 2. However, the new Season of the Hunt campaign story doesn’t begin until November 17, 2020. During Season of the Hunt, players can partake in new Wrathborn Hunts, celebrate the arrival of winter in The Dawning in-game event, and unlock new seasonal rewards. Check out the full Season of the Hunt calendar to see what’s in store for Destiny 2 in the months ahead.

Larryn Bell
News Editor

Larryn is a content creator and editor who has written guides and features for various gaming websites. She is always on the lookout for games with engaging stories, challenging puzzles, or unique gameplay mechanics.

Destiny 2 (2017)
PC (Microsoft Windows)
PlayStation 4
Xbox One

In Destiny 2, the last safe city on Earth has fallen and lays in ruins, occupied by a powerful new enemy and his elite army, the Red Legion. Every player creates their own character called a “Guardian,” humanity’s chosen protectors. As a Guardian in Destiny 2, players must master new abilities and weapons to reunite the city’s forces, stand together and fight back to reclaim their home.