Call of Duty: Warzone is a Free-to-Play Standalone Battle Royale

Call of Duty: Warzone is a Free-to-Play Standalone Battle Royale

Call of Duty: Warzone supports crossplay and will be available for free on consoles and PC starting March 10.

Today, Activision announced Call of Duty: Warzone, a new free-to-play battle royale game coming this week to consoles and PC. Call of Duty: Warzone launches Tuesday, March 10 at 12:00 p.m. PT/3:00 p.m. ET. The game will be free to everyone on PC, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4.

Call of Duty: Warzone will be a standalone title, which means you don’t have to own Call of Duty: Modern Warfare to enjoy Call of Duty’s latest take on battle royale. However, players who own a copy of 2019’s Modern Warfare will be able to play Warzone early at 8:00 a.m. PT/11:00 a.m. ET. Call of Duty: Warzone also supports crossplay, so get ready to squad up with your friends regardless of system.

Call of Duty: Warzone Trailer

Also, any Battle Pass items, customizations, and weapons players have earned in Modern Warfare will carry over to Warzone. Likewise, progression earned in Warzone will apply toward Modern Warfare gameplay progress.

Article continues below

There will be two game modes available at launch in Warzone: Battle Royale and Plunder. In Battle Royale, players compete on a map called Verdansk in matches that contain up to 150 players, breaking from the genre’s typical 100-player formula. In Plunder, the focus is on looting and completing contracts to earn money. The players with the most cash at the end of the match wins.

Call of Duty: Warzone will be available as a free download starting tomorrow, March 10. Warzone is a roughly 18-22 GB download for players who already own a copy of Modern Warfare and have the latest updates. Free-to-play players who don’t own Modern Warfare can expect a much larger download, estimated at 83-101 GB. Head over to the official website for more details on Call of Duty: Warzone.